Home | Our Village | Our Schools | Our People | Our Museum | About Us | 225 Club

Our Museum

Proctor Museum

Built in 1927 as the car shop superintendent’s office, the Proctor Museum building was originally located in the Proctor rail yard. In 2011, the Proctor Area Historical Society led a community effort to save the building from demolition and moved it to its present location along Highway 2.

DM&IR Engine #225

When the Railway retired its steam engines in the 1950s, the Village of Proctor received one of its iconic Yellowstone engines for permanent display. It was installed along Highway 2 on August 8, 1963.

F-101 Voodoo Jet

In 1971, Capt. Sherman Gonyea and Capt. James Verville, two Proctor men, were killed when their plane crashed and burned during a flight exercise at the Duluth Air Base. In 1974, Proctor received the F-101 jet, similar to the one flown by Gonyea and Verville, and dedicated it to the Proctor natives.


© 2022 Proctor Area Historical Society // Support the Proctor Area Historical Society! //  Proctor Curfew Siren